The People's Microphony Songbook

New publication!

Edited and Published by Elana Mann
Designed by Colleen Corcoran

About the People’s Microphony Songbook:
The People's Microphony Songbook contains resistance songs inspired by the People’s Microphone (also known as the People's Mic or the Human Mic), which is a technology that allows speakers at large assemblies or gatherings to be heard without the use of electric amplification. The resistance songs in The People's Microphony Songbook were originally written for the Los Angeles-based experimental choir the People's Microphony Camerata and they all explore the human voice as a material, political, and sensorial substance. Through the publication, these songs are being made available to a global public interested in exploring the People's Mic, active listening, and the human voice within a collective space. Musicians, artists, writers, and composers from North America, Mexico, and Europe contributed to The People’s Microphony Songbook, including: Andrew Choate, Allison Adah Johnson, Arianne Hoffmann, Audra Wolowiec, Chris Cuellar, Daniel Goode, Danielle Adair, G Douglas Barrett, Douglas Wadle, Elana Mann, Heather Warren-Crow, Iván Sánchez, James Klopfleisch, Jenny Donovan, Juliana Snapper, Kala Pierson, Kimberly Kim, Mikal Czech, Michael Matthews, Pauline Oliveros, Rachel Finkelstein, Sascha Goldhor, and Sibyl O'Malley. The People's Microphony Songbook was edited and published by Elana Mann and designed by Colleen Corcoran in June 2012.

About the People’s Microphony Camerata:
The People’s Microphony Camerata (PMC) is an experimental choir based in Los Angeles exploring the emergent phenomena of the People’s Microphone (Mic), a technology used in resistance movements worldwide including the Occupy Wall Street movement. Through ideas and practices of the People’s Mic, the PMC expresses interrelated desires of collective and individual voices to speak and be heard, to hear our own sounds sung back through different mouths, and to incorporate other voices and sounds into and through our own bodies. The PMC was founded in the spring of 2012 by Elana Mann and Juliana Snapper who were investigating ideas of radical receptivity through sound, voice, and the body, and researching the groundbreaking deep listening techniques of Pauline Oliveros. Current PMC members include: Alanna Simone, Allison Johnson, Andrea Sáenz, Andrew Choate, Annette Weisser, Cynthia Paige Aaron, Jessica Fleischmann, Elana Mann, Emily Mast, Jen Hofer, Juliana Snapper, Julie Tolentino, Karen Atkinson, Kimberly Kim, Marjan Vayghan, Michele Jaquis, Paul Carpenter, Rachel Finkelstein, Sascha Goldhor, and Vivian Bang.